Gilgit Baltistan Academia

Welcome to Gilgit Baltistan Academia! Its an educational portal, providing information regarding scholarships, admissions, jobs, workshops & conferences, career guidance and much more..

Sunday, March 18, 2018

HEC Bans MPhil and PhD Programs of 13 Universities

HEC Bans MPhil and PhD Programs of 13 Universities

HEC has banned 13 renowned universities from enrolling any students in their distance learning programmes.
The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has barred 13 universities from enrolling students in MPhil and Ph.D. distance learning programs. The reason behind this is noncompliance of universities with the HEC approved guidelines.
After conducting physical visits to the campuses, HEC found that the universities lack the adequate faculty.
Around 4,000 students will be impacted by this decision. However, HEC has directed the institutions to shift these students to regular programs of the universities.

Banned Universities

Following universities were banned by the HEC Quality Assurance Division;
  • International Islamic University, Islamabad;
  • Virtual Campus, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad,
  • University of Peshawar, Peshawar;
  • Gomal University, Dera Ismail Khan;
  • Government College University, Faisalabad;
  • University of Agriculture, Faisalabad;
  • The University of Faisalabad;
  • Islamia University, Bahawalpur;
  • Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan;
  • Sukkur IBA;
  • Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur;
  • University of Sindh, Jamshoro and
  • University of Balochistan, Quetta.